About us

CYMS Soccer Club was established in1975.

Keith Hazzard, Ab Cantrill, Sandro Rossetto and Jerry Westgeest where the prime movers in the formation of the Senior Soccer Club. It was through their enthusiasm, and desire, that the senior club came to fruition. This was on the back of a strong De La Salle junior player base wanting to continue playing in a strong senior Catholic side.

In 1977, following a reorganisation of the local soccer competition, the club was promoted to First Grade and they made it to the finals. They were coached by Tony Lawford.

In 1979 the club made it to its first Grand Final, with the Third grade side, coached by John Mealings. CYMS was defeated by St. Stanislaus' College 2-3.

1982 saw the formation of the Mid State Soccer League involving First and Second Grade teams, and Third Grade were playing for the local Orange Soccer Association competition. First Grade made it through to the finals of the Challenge Cup in Forbes, but were defeated by Waratahs.

1983 was a notable year for the club, with Second and Third Grades making it to the Grand Final. Second Grade defeated Dubbo South Wanderers 2-1, coached by Ab Cantrill. Third Grade defeated Blayney 2-1, coached by Keith Hazzard. First Grade, coached by Alan Turnbull, made it to the Finals of the Challenge Cup and were unlucky to be defeated by Lithgow Thistles.

1984 was another successful year with Second Grade, coached by Daryl Shute, reaching the Grand Final and Third Grade, coached by Chris Ryan, defeating Blayney 3-2 in their Grand Final. This gave the club its first back to back premierships, winning both from 4th position.

In the late 1980's the club became one of the strongest clubs in Orange, in terms of numbers of premierships. In 1988, First Grade won their Grand Final defeating Ex Services 2-0, coached by Terry Rossi. Second Grade, coached by Michael Roberts, finished as minor premiers, but lost the Grand Final 0-1 to Bathurst City Red Tops.

1990 saw a change in coaching staff with Chris Reiss taking over First Grade, Wayne Sherlock - Second Grade and Wayne Cowan - Third Grade. First Grade made it through to the Grand Final but were beaten by arch rivals Canobolas Rangers, 1-4 after extra time. The side did create club history when they made it through to the Statewide Amateur Cup for the first time. Second Grade carried the flag for the Club in this season, taking out both minor and major premierships.

In 1995 the Club celebrated their 20th year. In these 20 years, CYMS Soccer Club had achieved 9 Major Premierships, 8 Minor Premierships and 2 Western Area Challenge Cups.

Since 1995, the club has entered teams in the Central Western Premier League competition and Orange Soccer Association competition.

In 1999 and 2000, our First Grade side were runners up in the Central Western Premier League, loosing the grand finals to arch rivals Canobolas Rangers, and Waratahs, respectively.

In the early 2000’s the club went through some hard times and as result where forced to only field a second grade side in the Central Western Premier League competition and several sides in the Orange Soccer Association competition. In the mid 2000’s the decision was made to cease our association with the Central Western Premier League and concentrate on fielding sides in the Orange Soccer Association competition.

The decision to stop playing in the Central Western Premier League has proved to be beneficial as we have been able to field several strong teams in the A Division, B Division, C Division and over 35’s Division. Our A Division side made the finals for four consecutive years between 2008 and 2011. The B Grade side made the finals between 2008 and 2010. Our C Grade side won their division in 2010, and our over 35’s team have made the finals on a regular basis since the division commenced in 2006. They were successful in 2007 and were runners up in 2009.